LESSON 09 – Vimshottari Dasa and Calculations


To find the timing event, we must know the period ruled by the significator planet.There are so many types of dasha systems. But I found the Vimshottari dasha most reliable. This system is based on the longitude of the Moon. The total dasa period is 120 years. The ancient sages found out the life of human beings to be 120 years. Now it is supported by scientists in the present day. They have tested a particular part of the body, and ascertained that it can work for 120 years. Now they are also in agreement that the maximum life of a person can be up to 120 years old.The total period of 120 years has been allotted to 9 grahas, I will use word “Graha” which is different than the word “planet”. “Planets” and “Stars” are the words used for heavenly bodies. Rahu and Ketu are grahas, but they are not planets. “Graha” means sources of energy, attraction, so it may be a distincton. There are inner grahas and outer grahas. “Inner grahas” means grahas between the Earth and the Sun, which includes the Sun, Mercury, Venus and the Moon. Ketu isalso included in the inner grahas. Mars, Jupiter Saturn are outer grahas, and Rahu is treated as an outer graha as well. 120 years are divided in two equal parts of 60 year seach and allotted to inner and outer grahas. Starting from Revati, which is ruled by Mercury, then Ketu, Venus, Sun, and Moon,allotting 17 years, 7yrs, 20 yrs, 6 yrs, and 10 years respectively for a total of 60 years .Then Outer Grahas, Mars 7 years, Rahu 18 years, Jupiter 16 years, Saturn 19 years for a total of another 60 years. (See Figure 1)

figure 1

Vimshottari Dasa

• The periods, as shown in Figure 1, are known as Mahadashas (Main Periods). It is further sub divided into sub periods. The division for each of these sub  period planets is in proportion to its Mahadasha period. The first division is always that of the Mahadasha Lord. The sub period can be found from the following formula:

  • Let M = Mahadasha period
  • Let S = the sub lord of the mahadasha period
  • Let s = result of sub period in decimal years, which can be converted into months and days.
  • The formula now becomes: M X S divided by 120

For example, we want to find the sub period of Mercury in the Main period of Saturn. If we look at the table in Figure 1, you can see that Saturn (M) = 19 years and Mercury (S) = 17 years.

  • s = M X S divided by 120
  • s = 19 X 17 divided by 120
  • s = 2.6916666

This converts into 2 years 8 months and 9 days.

• However, there is an easier way to do this, by dividing the original formula by 10 instead of 12. This will automatically give you the number of months. Let’s see.

  • number of months = M X S divided by 10
  • number of months = 19 X 17 divided by 10
  • number of months = 32.3

The 32.3 means 32 months and .3 of a month or 3 X 3 = 9 days

We can now see that 32 months = 2 years and 8 months (plus the 9 days), which comes to the same thing as the first formula where we divided by 12.
• This can be done orally also, but we must know the mahadasha period first.

For example, let’s take Rahu. If we want to take the sub period of Rahu in the Mahadasa period of Rahu, we will have this:

  • RAHU Mahadasa = 18
  • Rahu Subperiod = 18
  • Total = 324 (leave out the 4)

Leave out the last digit, which is 4, so that the remainder is 32. These are the number of months, which then converts to 2 years and 8 months.

Now multiply the last digit of the number 324 by 3. It gives the days. Therefore, the subperiod of Rahu in the Rahu Mahadasa = 2 years 8 months, 12 days.

  • Mars sub in Mars main = 7X7 = 49 = four months and 27 days. 49 ÷ 10 = 4.9 which equals 4 months and 27 (9 X 3) days.
  • Sun sub in Moon main = 6 X 10 = 60 = six months and 0 days. From the above equation one can find the sub period of any planet.
  • Now suppose the main period of Venus starts from the 1st of Jan.,1980. It lasts for 20 years. Now we have to find the sub period of Mars in Venus main.

Add the total years of Venus + Sun + Moon up to Mars = 20 + 6+ 10 = 36 .

Now we have to find the start of the Mars sub period. So we multiply 36 by 20 (the main period of Venus) 36 X 20 = 720 leaving out the last digit which gives us 72(months) = 6 years. The last digit of 720 stands for days which gives us zero days.

This means that the Mars sub period will start 6 years after 1st Jan 1980 which is the1st Jan 1986. And the Mars period will be 7 X 20 = 140 = one year 2 months.

Similarly we can find the sub period of any planet in the main or Mahadasa period of any planet.

The Vimshottari Mahadasa is based upon the constellation of the Moon, in which it is situated and uses the angular distance of each Nakshatra, which is 13 deg. 20 min.

figure 2

If we want to find the Main constellation period from the Moon’s longitude, first convert it to degrees, divide it by 120, then multiply the decimal portion by 9.

EXAMPLE:Suppose the Moon is in Scorpio 18 degrees and 17 seconds. If we look at the table in Figure 2, we’ll see a conversion table that charts all planetary positions from the 0°Aries point instead of 0° from each individual sign. It will easily allow us to find out what degree of the 360° zodiac Scorpio falls on. Scan down to Scorpio in the table. It says 210°. Add the 18 degrees more from the Scorpio Moon position to 210°.

Moon in Scorpio – 18 degrees 17 seconds

210 degrees (from Conversion table next to Scorpio)
= 228 degrees

Together we have 228.2833333

Divide 228.2833333 by 120 to get 1.90236.

Disregard the integer to the left of the decimal to make it 0.90236. Multiply this by 9 = 8.12125. Round this off to the nearest integer which in this case comes to 8.

The full integers represent the periods that have already passed. This means that the Moon is already into the next constellation, ruled by Mercury, which is in the 9th position from Ketu. (See Figure 3)

As illustrated in the table in Figure 3, each planetary ruler is shown in its numbered constellation. There are 27 Nakshatras in three cycles of 9. The rulers repeat themselves in each cycle.

figure 3

Again the 10th constellation will be of Ketu, And 11 that of Venus and so on. If were member the lords of the 1st to the 9th constellations, then they can easily be applied further. A good tip is to total the constellation number and find the ruler for the number of the total. For example, find the ruler of the constellation # 23. Now total 2+3 = 5.The ruler of five is Mars, and so is the number 23 mars. (Also see Figure 4)

The period passed can be calculated by multiplying the decimal portion by the main period of Mercury.

0.12125 X 17 = 2.06125 years = 2 years , 0 months and 22 days have passed and 14years 11 months and 8 days are remaining.

The Dasha system is based on the Hindu Calendar which has approximately 360 days(average). In actuality, the Hindu calendar is based on the Moon and the English calendar is based on the Sun, which contains 365 days with one day added for every leap year. In the Hindu calendar some months are added or subtracted. This is know nas Adhik mas (additional month) and kshaya mas (deleted month) and matches the Sun’s transit. It may be difficult to calculate the dasha system actually as per the Hindu calendar. It is much easier to follow the English Calendar for this. The maximum difference may be 18 days, if we follow the English calendar.